Rosary Group

Rosary Group

3rd Friday of the month at 7pm                                                                                             

All Saints Church

Starting on Friday 16th September

Everyone welcome

Why pray the Rosary?

The rosary is an ancient form of prayer, based on scripture. It encourages contemplation on the life death and resurrection of Jesus Christ and the example of his mother the Blessed Virgin Mary. Many find the rosary a deeply enriching form of prayer, which helps sustain and encourage them in their faith.

Who can pray the rosary?

Anyone from any church tradition who can repeat three easy prayers can pray a Rosary. Everything is printed to make it easy for you. You don’t need to be especially devout.

Why do you use beads?

Simply to help keep count of the repetition of the prayers; many people find the beads help them focus on prayer and contemplation. You don’t have to use beads you can simply count or use your fingers. We will have spare sets of beads available to borrow at the rosary group.

Is the Rosary praying to Mary?

No, we ask Mary to pray for us as an important member of the Communion of Saints, but we don’t worship her. Our worship is to God in the Holy Trinity but we do respect Mary because of the special position she holds as the mother of Christ. In Luke 1:46-47 Mary says, “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my saviour”. When we pray the Rosary, we approach Christ through Mary because of her special connection with Him and with us.

How do you pray the rosary?

The easiest way to learn is to come along and have a go; we shall explain everything as we go along.

When we pray the Rosary, we start with the cross, say a prayer, then move on to the first bead and say a prayer, then move to the second bead and say a prayer, and continue in this manner until all of the beads are covered. The basic configuration of the prayer is simple: the Rosary consists of a Cross, a medal, individual beads, and consecutive beads. For the cross, we pray the Apostles' Creed; for the individual beads, the Our Father, and for the consecutive beads, the Hail Mary. After all of the beads have been covered, it is customary to say some concluding prayers

What are the Mysteries?

Each decade (group of 10 prayers) is reflects on a particular event in the life of Jesus or of the Virgin Mary; these are called Mysteries. There are four sets of mysteries, and one set is used each time the rosary is prayed. These are; the Joyful Mysteries, focussing on the birth and early childhood of Christ; the Luminous Mysteries, remembering the ways in which Jesus revealed himself as both God and Man during his ministry; the Sorrowful Mysteries, remembering Jesus arrest, crucifixion and death, and finally the Glorious Mysteries, celebrating Jesus resurrection and ascension.

Come along and give it a try, we look forward to seeing you.